City of Portland

The City of Portland is a full service city that is home to over 560,000 residents within 145 square miles in northwestern Oregon. Located astride the Willamette River at its confluence with the Columbia River, Portland is the center of commerce, industry, transportation, finance, and services for a metropolitan area of more than two million people. Portland is the largest city in Oregon, the seat of Multnomah County, and the second largest city in the Pacific Northwest.
The City of Portland was incorporated in 1851 and, in 1913, a modified commission form of government was created under which Portland still operates today, rare in cities as large as Portland. Five nonpartisan Council members, called Commissioners, including the Mayor are elected at-large to four-year terms. These elected positions are fulltime and salaried. The Mayor and Commissioners act as legislators and administrators who are responsible for enacting and enforcing City laws and administering bureaus under their supervision. The Mayor decides which bureaus the Commissioners will manage. The City of Portland employs over 5,900 employees and has a budget of about $2.75 billion.